Introduction to theological meanderings

I once saw someone write (I believe it was N.T. Wright) that if you don’t start writing you will never finish a book. I guess the same applies to blog posts. I often feel that I have to do so much preparation and spend days on a single post. This is a habit I have to break.

I started this blog to post my thoughts on current books, hobbies, and theologies I am interested in at the time of writing in hopes of inspiring and edifying others. Theology is a journey and is a path every single human being walks down and must walk down on a daily basis whether they are aware of it or not, but O’ how much better to be an aware theologian! The theologian, astro-physicist, mathematician, philosopher, layperson, and the average man or woman on the street all practice theology every day of their lives. It is a practice which is ingrained into the very fabric of who we are as human beings. We cannot help but develop thoughts about God, the being by whom and for whom we were created, even if those thoughts are that no God exists at all. It is all theology, it is all words, thoughts, ideas and meditations about God.

My journey on this path called theology has taken me many places, from a life of hedonistic atheism to a charismatic street preacher to where I now rest comfortably as a novice Reformed theologian who believes that the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments are the final, complete and all sufficient authority upon which all matters of faith and practice are to be formed and established. Yes, I exclaim with the reformers themselves, Sola Scriptura! But I also cry out Ad Fontes! This is why I do not shrink away from studying differing views to my own. Had I not been open to new theologies in the past I would never have landed where I am (thus far). I remain devout in my adherence to the Reformed Faith as demonstrated in the Westminster Standards, The Three Forms of Unity, the doctrine of the puritans, the early princetonian giants (Hodge, Warfield, Machen), and in the passionate pleas of Charles Spurgeon himself, yet I enjoy engaging with many other streams of theology.

Because of this I have decided to begin a series of posts on this blog dedicated to engaging with Karl Barth’s doctrine of Election as seen in his Church Dogmatics II.2. Most of my library is contained in storage as my wife and I are living with my parents to save up money for the time being (I could only bring with me my Greek, Hebrew, and Latin materials as well as the first volume of Turretin’s Institutes, volume two of Bavinck’s Reformed Dogmatics and volume two of A. Brakel), this will cause me to stick almost entirely to Scripture itself while engaging with Barth, which fits nicely with what Barth himself said about his dogmatics, “As strictly as possible we have let our questions be dictated by the answers which are already present in the revelation of God attested in Holy Scripture.” (CD II.2 pg.3)

Happy meanderings to all!

Leave a Reply

